In all division Ad hoc committees, commisions and Federations on various disciplinces are active


ICTV - International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses

BAM (Bacteriology and Applied Microbiology)

ICFMH - International Committee on Food Microbiology & Hygiene
ICSP -International Committee on Systematics of Prokaryotes
ICMSF - International Commission of Microbiological Specifications for Food

MEM (Mycology and Eukaryotic Microbiology)

ICFM - International Commission on Food Mycology. For website see
Chair: Ludwig Niessen. eMail: Secretary: Sue Lin Leong. Treasurer: Emilia Rico
ICIF - International Commission on Indoor Fungi. For website see
Contact person: Ulf Thrane. eMail:
ICPA - International Commission on Penicillium & Aspergillus. For website see
Chair: Robert A Samson. eMail: Secretary:Giancarlo Perrone
ICTF - International Commission on Taxonomy of Fungi. website see
Chair: Conrad Schoch. eMail: Secretary: Andrew Miller
ICY -International Commission on Yeasts. see website
Chair: Hiroshi Takagi. eMail:

Interdisciplinary committee

The International Committee on Bionomenclature (ICB)

Chair: Ellinor Michel (; Natural History Museum, Cromwell Road, London SW7 5BD, UK.
Vice-Chair: Brian Tindall (; Leibniz-Institut DSMZ, Inhoffenstrasse 7b, 38124 Braunschweig, Germany.



WFCC - World Federation for Culture

Chair: Ipek Kurtböke.
The WFCC is a Multidisciplinary Commission of the International Union of Biological Sciences (IUBS) and a Federation within the International Union of Microbiological Societies (IUMS). The WFCC is concerned with the collection, authentication, maintenance and distribution of cultures of microorganisms and cultured cells. Its aim is to promote and support the establishment of culture collections and related services, to provide liaison and set up an information network between the collections and their users, to organise workshops and conferences, publications and newsletters and work to ensure the long term perpetuation of important collections. Read more >>