International Committee on Food Microbiology & Hygiene (ICFMH)

The International Committee on Food Microbiology and Hygiene was founded in 1953 and officially represents the International Union of Microbiological Societies in all issues related to food microbiology. The major aim of the ICFMH is to contribute to food safety internationally by means of symposia (e.g. FOOD MICRO), workshops, support of international bodies in food safety issues, publications (e.g. the International Journal of Food Microbiology), and by supporting and initiating education and training in food microbiology. The ICFMH particularly focuses on the food safety situation in developing countries.

Executive Board

President:                     Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Holzapfel (Germany/South Korea)

Honorary President:       Prof. Dr. Mogens Jakobsen (Denmark)

Vice-President:              Prof. Dr. Larry R. Beuchat (USA)

Secretary:                     Dr. Sara Bover-Cid (Spain)

Treasurer:                     Dr. Janet E.L. Corry (UK)

Co-opted Members:       Prof. Dr. Luca Cocolin (Italy); Prof. Dr. ir. Frank Devlieghere (Belgium); Prof. Dr. Weihuan Fang (China); Prof. Dr. Graham Fleet (Australia); Prof. Dr. Bernadette Franco (Brasil); Dr. Andreja Rajkovic (Belgium); Prof. Dr. Peter Raspor (Slovenia)

Publication: International Journal of Food Microbiology. Website:


International Committee on Systematics of Prokaryotes (ICSP)

The ICSP is an international committee within the International Union of Microbiological Societies (IUMS) which is responsible for matters relating to prokaryote nomenclature and taxonomy.

The ICSP consists of an executive board, the members of the Judicial Commission and members elected from member societies of the IUMS. In addition, the ICSP has a number of subcommittees which deal with matters relating to the nomenclature and taxonomy of specific groups of prokaryotes. The ICSP is also responsible for overseeing the publication of the International Code of Nomenclature of Bacteria (the Bacteriological Code) and the International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology (IJSEM) (formerly theInternational Journal of Systematic Bacteriology, IJSB). IUMS has now agreed to transfer copyright of future versions of theInternational Code of Nomenclature of Bacteria (to be renamed the International Code of Nomenclature of Prokaryotes) to the ICSP.



Officers of the International Committee on Systematics of Prokaryotes (ICSP) and of its Judicial Commission – 2014 to 2017

Chairman: M. da Costa

Vice-Chairman: F. A. Rainey

Executive Secretary: L. Dijkshoorn

Treasurer: W. B. Whitman

Secretary for Subcommittees: D. Brown

Executive Board, Members-at-Large: S. N. Venter, E. M. Tóth

The position of Editorial Secretary is now defunct.

International Commission of Microbiological Specifications for Food (ICMSF)

The International Commission on Microbiological Specifications for Foods (ICMSF, the Commission) was formed in 1962 through the action of the International Committee on Food Microbiology and Hygiene, a committee of the International Union of Microbiological Societies (IUMS). Through the IUMS, the ICMSF is linked to the International Union of Biological Societies (IUBS) and to the World Health Organization (WHO) of the United Nations.

Dr. Martin Cole Chairman
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO). Division of Food and Nutritional Sciences. PO Box 52, North Ryde, New South Wales, 1670, Australia.
Dr. Jeffrey M. Farber Treasurer
Health Canada. Food Directorate, Bureau of Microbial Hazards. Banting Research Centre. Postal Locator 2203G3, Tunney’s Pasture. Ottawa, Ontario K1A OL2. Canada.
Dr. Fumiko Kasuga Secretary
Division of Biomedical Food Research. National Institute of Health Sciences. 1-18-1 Kamiyoga, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo 158-8501. Japan.


For list of members click here



Joomla templates by a4joomla